Confederate Documents, Pledges, and Salutes

I found this on the Sons of Confederate Veterans webpage.  It is very interesting to see how the Confederate Constitution and their pledge of allegiance is similar to our own.

The Salute to the Confederate Flag:

Confederate Battle Flag

I salute the Confederate flag with affection, reverance, and undying devotion to the cause for which it stands.

Here is the pledge to the Tennessee flag. I find this one very interesting. It is symbolic of much of the sentiment of many if not most early war Confederates.

Tennessee Flag

Flag of Tennessee I salute thee, to thee I pledge my allegiance with my affection,  my service, and my life.

Here though is the most important pledge out of all of these.

I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America and to the republic for which it stands, One nation under GOD, indivisible with liberty and justice for all.

Here as I promised is the Confederate Constitution. Due to the extreme length of the document I will give a link to the Sons of Confederate Veterans homepage. From there you can read the document for yourself.  http://www.dixiescv.org/

Published in: on June 14, 2010 at 8:45 pm  Comments Off on Confederate Documents, Pledges, and Salutes  
