Another Important Anniversary

These next five years are the Civil War Sesquicenntenial. This year though holds a far more significant anniversary, the fifth anniversary of my salvation! That is very exciting for me.

I am the typical pastor’s kid. I’ve been going to church since the day I was concieved.  By the time I was 3 I could tell you every Bible story known to man. When I was 4 I prayed a prayer. Thats all it was though. I did it to impress my parents. It wasn’t a true conversion but at the time I didn’t realize that.

I had a great childhood. I traveled alot, got to do many things that kids enjoy, for the most part I was happy. As I got older I started to become very unhappy, uncontented, doubtful. I was terribly unhappy.

The climax of my unhappiness came when I moved to MI. I didn’t want to be here. I hated everything about it, and I hate to say it but everyone here too. At this point I knew I wasn’t saved but I didn’t want to do anything about it. 

 My depravity came to a head when I started playing basketball for m local public school. I started swearing, having terrible attitudes towards all authority. I knew from my upbringing that this was not right. My dad had been preaching some very convicting sermons. The Spirit was working and I fought it (which is a battle that cannot be won if you are called by God). I fought it until one night I knew I couldn’t fight any longer. I surrendered. I gave my life, my will, and my heart to God.

I was on my bed after basketball practice when it happened on January 12, 2006. I finally was saved for real! I felt a change in my heart and life. I knew it was for real. According to Romans 8:30 Moreover whom He predestined, these He also called; whom He called, these He also justified; and whom He justified, these He also glorified. The Lord has done all of this (except for the glorification which is yet to come) for me and He is still working in my life!

Now that i’ve shared my story I want to hear yours comment them here on this post or email them to me at anna@lansebaptist.org (no spam please)

Published in: on January 12, 2011 at 7:53 pm  Comments Off on Another Important Anniversary  
